Dutch Help Justify Unhealthy Snacking

October 3, 2008

There’s always fruit in my apartment, but of course there’s always candy too. More often than not the fruit gets tossed. I almost always run out of candy.

Dutch researchers at Wageningen University in the Netherlands can help explain this Grand Canyon-esque gulf between my intentions and what I end up doing. Why we simply can’t resist “sinful” snacks

Basically, the parts of our brain that note intentions and dictate impulse don’t cooperate. So while an individual knows rationally that, say, a handful of grapes are a more rewarding snack, it shouldn’t be a surprise when they reach for a convenience food or something more immediately gratifying like a donut.

It’s a great scapegoat if you can’t stick with your diet, but can this be applied to other aspects of our lives? Like, the part of my brain that notes time isn’t communicating with the part that cares whether or not I’m late for work, so it’s not my fault? It’s my noggin needin’ rewiring?

Leave a Reply

